• ‘Shaping Visions’ marks Migs’ first album project since the release of ‘Dim Division’ on Soul Heaven/Defected in 2014
  • Written and produced during the height of the pandemic, the album reflects a laid back and deeply emotive side of Migs’ repertoire

Release: Miguel Migs – Shaping Visions
Label: Soulfuric Deep
Format: Download & Streaming / 2 x 12″ Vinyl
Release date: 4th June 2021

Once in a while an artist will come along that carves out a sonic aesthetic so distinctive it takes just a few bars of a record to know it’s one of theirs. Miguel Migs is undoubtedly one of these artists, with the Californian producer’s catalogue of deeply soulful house demonstrating his adept knowledge of atmospheric, dimensional and creative soundscapes. Now he delivers new album Shaping Visions on Soulfuric Deep, his first LP since Dim Division on Soul Heaven Records/Defected in 2014.

Defected has lovingly cared for Soulfuric as part of its label group since 2017, with the Soulfuric Deep branch of the imprint making a fitting home for Migs’ latest LP. The San Franciscan artist has a long, fruitful relationship with Defected, with Migs the very first artist to release an In The House compilation alongside Jay-J, as well as sitting among the esteemed list of Defected’s House Masters. Migs’ combination of well-crafted song writing, soulful melodies, warm chords, engaging vocals and soothing basslines continues to cement the legacy of his inimitable career as he prepares to release Shaping Visions.

“The album was created mostly last year during the height of the pandemic, and the intimate connection reflects a laid back, deep and moody expression focusing on the atmospheric layers and dimensional textures in the production values while highlighting the thoughtful vocals. Featuring a wide range of high calibre artists with the emphasis on the quality song-driven forward focus and feel, connecting with the music listener as opposed to just being a “dancefloor” club driven album. The songs and expression are inspired by a diverse range of musical styles that resonate as a songwriter and artist, and the subtle intimate approach in these songs reflects and evokes some of these feelings.” – Miguel Migs

From the mellow groove of opening track ‘Midnight Memories’, to the seductive soulfulness of ‘Mood Lights’, and the laid back, driving feel of ‘Chasing Time’, this collection of mid-tempo gems showcases Migs’ distinctive style at its very best. With an emphasis on quality, song-driven material, featuring a host of talented collaborators including house favourite Lisa Shaw, guitarist and vocalist for Prince Andy Allo and Rebel Soul founder Martin Luther, Shaping Visions‘ thoughtfully intimate intentions are what make it a truly special listening experience.

‘Shaping Visions’ will be released on 4th June via Soulfuric Deep.
Contact Sara Cooper for a review copy.

Digital Tracklist
1. Miguel Migs ‘Midnight Memories’
2. Miguel Migs featuring Andy Allo ‘Sensations’
3. Miguel Migs featuring Lisa Shaw ‘Promises’
4. Miguel Migs featuring Aya ‘Silver Sun’
5. Miguel Migs featuring Martin Luther ‘Restless Nights’
6. Miguel Migs featuring Stephen James ‘To The Other Side’
7. Miguel Migs featuring Aya ‘Into The Red Sky’ 
8. Miguel Migs featuring Martin Luther ‘Back Tonight’
9. Miguel Migs featuring Lisa Shaw ‘Running With You’
10. Miguel Migs featuring Stephen James ‘Mood Lights’
11. Miguel Migs featuring Luqman Frank ‘Follow Through’
12. Miguel Migs featuring Samantha James ‘Chasing Time’
13. Miguel Migs ‘Before I Go’

Miguel Migs Links

General links:


No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply