Various Artists Discotexas Picnic II Discotexas

Various Artists – Discotexas Picnic II

Release Details

LABEL : Discotexas
DATE : 05-07-2013
FORMAT : Vinyl/Digital

Since 2007 Discotexas has flown the flag for quality disco and leftfield House music releases from a wide array of artists out of its sunny base in Portugal. Now, for the second time, the label is compiling some of its most popular cuts alongside a selection of unreleased exclusives that will soon see the light of day as singles packages.
The title is Discotexas Picnic II, a nod to the fact that this release shines a light on known and unknown artists in one big family gathering much like… a picnic! Importantly this is richly musical centered around disco and house music. It is emotion-full and fueled by organic and human ways of doing memorable tunes.
There are many highlights along the way and unreleased tracks at time of compilation release include opener Moullinex – ‘To Be Clear’ (RAC Remix), a prickly, slo mo and vocal led jam bursting with colourful synths and real instruments. Others include the strident boom bap and real sounding percussion of Jay Lamar & Jesse Oliver’s ‘Cul De Sac’, Da Chick’s radiant and pop leaning ‘Lotta Love’, the Xinobi remix of Justin Faust’s ‘Space Rhumba’ and Xinobi’s ‘Puma’ (Moullinex Remix).
Elsewhere the cosmic funk of Jesse Oliver’s ‘Oceans’ (Mirror People Remix) soars to the twinkly night sky with glistening arpeggiated melodies, 80s leaning chords and a healthy dose of disco dazzle, whilst edit kings Psychemagik do their inimitable thing on a remix of Mirror People’s ‘Kaleidoscope’ and turn it into a prowling, nagging, dark disco number that really works its way under your skin with its celestial keys and slightly haunted late night vibe.
Wherever you look here there is pure and modern disco gold from some of the genre’s finest producer’s as expertly A&Red by the close knit Discotexas family.

Last Reviews

Maribou State feat Holly Walker
Tongue (inc. James Welsh & Drew Hill remixes)
Ramon Tapia
Intense Ep
Splinter Foot Girl EP