Various Artists Southern Fried & Tested 4 – mixed by Doorly Southern Fried Records

Various Artists – Southern Fried & Tested 4 - mixed by Doorly

Release Details

LABEL : Southern Fried Records
DATE : 01-07-2013
FORMAT : 12” / CD


CD 1 – The Boom Boom Room

01. Intro
02. Space Cowboy – Cuttin’ N’ Scratchin’ (Doorly Choppin & Slicin Edit)
03. Jess & Crabbe – The Big Booya (Bonus Beats & Acapella)
Jess & Crabbe – The Big Booya (Norman Cooks Main Pass)
04. Domino – I Will Rock You (Dub)
05. Up Yours – Tonight
06. The 2 Bears – Be Strong
07. Spork – Freek Like Me (Doorly Freak-mix)
08. Grandadbob – This Is It
09. The 2 Bears – The Lunatics (Have Taken Over The Asylum) (Stylophonic hot dub 2)
The 2 Bears – The Lunatics (Have Taken Over The Asylum) – Stylophonic hot dub 1
10. Armand Van Helden – Je T’aime (Switch Remix)
11. Doorly & Rory Lyons – Le Pump
12. Dusty Kid – The Cat (Acapella)
The Whip – Movement (The 2 Bears Acid Dub)
Scanty Sandwich – Because of You (Loop)
13. Mighty Dub Katz – Magic Carpet Ride (Loop)
Mighty Dub Katz – Magic Carpet Ride (Claude Von Stroke Piano Remix)
14. Armand Van Helden feat. Christian Rich – Ski Hard (Doorly & Rory Lyons Ski-Mix)
15. Doorly Feat Roland Clark – Something To Say
16. DJ Touche – The Paddle (Banana Seat Remix)
17. Doorly – Don’t Worry About It
18. The 2 Bears – Work It Out (DJ Sneak Remix)
19. Eats Everything – Hevvie
20. Armand Van Helden – Playmate (Jesse Rose Remix)
21. Crookers feat. Kardinal Offishall & Carla Marie – Put Your Hands On Me (Sticky K Remix)
22. The 2 Bears – The Lunatics (Have Taken Over The Asylum) (TEED Remix)
23. Avec (feat. Jake Shears) – Disappearer

CD 2 – Sunset Terrace

01. Magik Johnson – Disco Mustaccio (Supra 1 Remix)
02. A/Jus/Ted – Stay Up Here (The Rhythm Odyssey Mixture)
03. Armand Van Helden – Into Your Eyes (The Droyds Dub)
04. Didier Morris – That Disco Swinger
Percy Filth – Show Me Your Monkey (Acapella)
05. The Shoes – Time To Dance (Rocky Piano Mix)
06. Luca C & Brigante feat. Ali Love – Different Morals (Danny
Daze Remix)
07. Knight & Dahe – Its Coming
08. Justin Jay – Everything
09. Chicken Lips – All That You Do
10. Cagedbaby – Disco Biscuit (Ashley Beedle Heavy Disco Dub)
11. Mighty Dub Katz – Guaguanco
12. Chicken Lips – D.R.O.M.P (Special 12” mix)
13. Frogs In Socks – Jetskis
14. Waze & Odyssey – 2 Cool 2 Clap
15. Didier Morris – No Baby Momma Drama
16. Frogs in Socks – All This Madness

“A dream came true for me in around 2007 when I won a DJ mix competition for Southern Fried and got to play at one of their parties with Norm & Armand Van Helden, still to this day one of the best moments of my career and the start of a beautiful friendship with the label.”

Following in the footsteps of Mighty Dub Katz, Cagedbaby and The 2 Bears, DJ and producer Doorly has mixed the fourth instalment of Southern Fried & Tested, Southern Fried Records’ compilation series in which selected artists mix up tracks from the label’s vast back catalogue. The mix features plenty of exclusive tracks as well as some forgotten gems and stone cold classics.

Brit Doorly has proved something of a sensation in recent years, emerging from being a resident at his own party in Huddersfield into an internationally recognised pin-up of the EDM generation who plays across the world on a non-stop basis. He has collaborated with everyone from Grandmaster Flash to Beardyman, hosts his own show on Rinse.FM and is known to be a technically advanced DJ who has also toured with the Southern Fried boss, been Usher’s Tour DJ and is head of his own eclectic label, Pigeonhole This. Says Doorly of the new mix:

“Anybody that knew me in my early days of DJing 14 years ago will be able to tell you that my main inspiration as a DJ was Norman Cook and I used to buy Southern Fried Records on vinyl without even needing to listen to them because I trusted them so much. Tracks like ‘Mighty Dub Katz – Let The Drums Speak’ and ‘Markus Nicolai – Bushes’… ooooof! “

“Fast forward to now and I’m honoured to be able to release my own music on Southern Fried in great company with some artists I hugely respect and am inspired by with the likes of The 2 bears, Maribou State, Chicken Lips and Justin Jay as my contemporaries to name a few. So it is with great excitement, pride and passion that I bring you this mix compilation. I am a fan boy of the label so having full access to the back catalogue and some of its rarest obscurities was an absolute holiday for me and I hope this comes across over the 2 CDs.”

The mix is split into two halves – the first disc is full-on main room club fare and is packed with exclusive new tunes from DJ Touche, Doorly & Rory Lyons, Avec featuring Scissor Sisters man Jake Shears with their Disappearer track as well as some special Doorly edits of producers like Armand van Helden and Spork. Each one packs a punch and fits perfectly into the overall, genre-definat picture. Stitched together typically seamlessly by the man who works for Pioneer as a Pro-DJ, there are often more than two records playing at once and it makes for energetic, charismatic listening with hands in the air moments perfectly segued into twitchy house and molten acid drops.

Disc two offers a more emotional and deeper take on house, garage and tech with contemporary stars like Danny Daze and Waze & Odyssey popping up next to legends like Chicken Lips – whose All That You Do tune is as big now as it was upon first release – and dub cuts from Ashley Beedle. From the pinging kicks of Knight & Dahe’s It’s Coming to the choppy pianos of Mighty Dub Katz’s Guaguanco, it’s an arresting ride.

Expertly layered throughout with subtle loops, scorching acapellas and label favourites, Fried & Tested 4 is an expert overview of both this label and the modern electronic music scene by one of the most talented in the game.

Last Reviews

Various Artists
Discotexas Picnic II
Maribou State feat Holly Walker
Tongue (inc. James Welsh & Drew Hill remixes)
Ramon Tapia
Intense Ep
Splinter Foot Girl EP