Various Artists Cocoon Compilation S

It’s that time of year again when Cocoon Recordings serves up the next instalment of their legendary letter compilation series. Incredibly, it’s already reached the letter ‘S’ and just like anything of vintage, the passing of time has steadily enhanced both the depth and quality of the compilation and once again the latest edition brings together some of the most relevant artists of the day.

Love Over Entropy gets the ball rolling with ‘As If’ offering up smooth, mediterranean vibes designed to stimulate heart-felt communication. Stimming’s ‘The Gift That Never Stops To Give’ continues in a low slung, tribal vein then John Talabot and Axel Boman aka Talaboman not only win the most bombastic track name of the year, but do a good job living up to it on the angular trance riffs off ‘Big Room Anthemic Groovy Pounding Trance Dub Bomb. Superb!’

Emanuele Satie, Edward then Florian Hollerith offer tech house, new beat and analogue rawness in the mid-section before Raxon gets things rolling on ‘The Turbulent’ and Mark Broom does what he does best with the full on industrial techno of ‘Jaded.’ Cult artists old and new in Egbert, Dino Lenny and Neil Landstrumm all delve into slick bass, intelligent grooves and razor-edged riffs that perfectly encapsulate everything that has gone before.

Brimming with timeless melodies, rampaging beats and pressed on eye-catching yellow vinyl, Cocoon’s Compilation ‘S’ effortlessly spans a broad spectrum of contemporary dance music from both veterans and relative fresh talents to the scene making it one of the best Cocoon Compilations to date.



1. Love over Entropy – As If

2. Stimming – The Gift That Never Stops To Give

3. Talaboman – Big room anthemic groovy pounding trance dub bomb. Superb! 
4. Emanuel Satie – Planet XXX

5. Edward – End Days

6. Florian Hollerith – KURZVOR12

7. Raxon – The Turbulent

8. Mark Broom – Jaded
9. Egbert – Tering

10. Dino Lenny – Keep Changing Basslines

11. Neil Landstrumm – Flesh Is A Prison

12. Red Axes – Hevk 


No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply